Auto-restart trial period when unactivating licence
N
Nick Minchin
When re-applying a licence offline (for example to add a licence for a module), it's imperative to reset the trial period prior to this so that in the time that it's unactivated, you're not disrupting clients and production. If you don't restart the trial period, potentially 100's of Vision and Perspective clients get the "trial period ended" and each one needs to be manually restarted, turning a 5min task into a 2-3 hour task for you and the client, which obviously impacts their production.
However, if the Gateway doesn't have any modules in trial period, there's no means to reset the trial period, so this downtime is now forced.
My requests are:
- auto-restart the trial period whenever the licence state changes (i.e. whenever a licence is added/removed)
- add a button somewhere to restart the trial period regardless if there are unlicenced modules or not
Log In
L
Lynn Martineau
Offline unactivating and activating to install new modules really needs to be seamless. I rarely think to start a 2 hour trial for a production server adding license for a new module.
The horrible work-around is to activate the license and throw the server into emergency mode then call IA to fix the license count.
Automatically starting the trial period when unactivating would remove a pain point on both ends.